If an employee suddenly receives an error when editing a table in an employee profile, check whether a new field was recently added to that table and whether they have permission to access it.

When a new field is added to a table in Bob, it starts without permissions. This can affect people who previously had permission to edit the table, even if they aren’t trying to update the new field.
This happens because updating a table generates an entry that affects all fields in the table. To edit the table, the person needs edit permission for every column in that table. This also means they’ll be able to view every column.
To resolve the error:
- Identify whether a new field was recently added to the affected table.
- Check the permissions for the new field.
- Grant the relevant permission group edit permissions for the field.
- Ask the affected person to edit the table again and confirm that the error no longer appears.
For example, if someone can normally edit the Work table and a new field is added, they may receive an error while updating an existing table entry they already had permissions to edit.
Granting them the required permissions for the new field allows them to edit the table again.
As a best practice, review and configure field level permissions whenever you create a new field in a table to prevent existing editing workflows from being affected.